UNOFFICIAL MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF U.S.D. NO. 403, RUSH COUNTY, KANSAS ON AUGUST 13, 2018

The Otis-Bison U.S.D. No. 403 Board of Education meeting was called to order on August 13, 2018 at 7:30 p.m. by President, Bernard Juno. At the roll call, six board members were present. Everett Royer was not present. Superintendent Lowry and Principal Goodheart were present, along with Hank Highfill.

There was no public open forum.

Karen Maier moved, seconded by Jason Wagner, to approve the agenda as presented. Motion vote was: Affirmative 6, Negative 0.

The 2018-2019 Budget Hearing was held. Superintendent Lowry discussed the proposed 2018-2019 Budget. There were no questions or comments from patrons.

Motion made by Gary Yost, seconded by Robert Mitchell, to approve the 2018-2019 budget as amended, changing the capital outlay mills from 8 mills to 6 mills. Motion vote was: Affirmative 6, Negative 0.

Superintendent Lowry reported on the following:

- -Progress of roofing and wiring projects at the High School and Elementary School.
- -Bison boiler repairs/replacement
- -Safe and Secure Schools Grant received in the amount of \$4,831
- -Updated technology for staff
- -Drills required this year: 4 fire drills, 3 tornado drills and 9 crisis drills
- -Retirement reception for Deb Erb
- -Ag Day Invitation to board
- -Bus route drivers
- -AimsWeb Training
- -Enrollment

Everett Royer entered the meeting at 7:55 p.m.

Principal Goodheart discussed the following:

- -Football field lights
- -Roof and carpet working crews
- -Custodian and Secretary applications

- -Flooring in gym
- -Jennifer Chapman will cover Pre-School first 7 days of school

Hank Highfill's Technology Report included the following:

- -Promethean Boards
- -Installation of three TV's at Elementary School
- -Smoothwall
- -Chromebooks

Milt Dougherty submitted a written report for SouthWinds Academy. Superintendent Lowry discussed the projected enrollment numbers

Motion made by Jason Wagner, seconded by Pam Welsh, to approve the July 9, 2018 regular meeting minutes, July 30,2018 special meeting minutes, treasurer's report, accounts payable, activity funds and petty cash fund. Motion vote was: Affirmative 7, Negative 0.

Gary Yost moved, seconded by Everett Royer, to approve the Maintenance Contract with Crazy 8 for the 2018-2019 school year. Motion vote was: Affirmative 6, Negative 1. (Robert Mitchell abstained.)

Motion made by Gary Yost, seconded by Karen Maier, to approve the second reading of board policies AF, BCAC, BCBG, DC, DE, DFAC, DFE, DIC, DJB, DJEB, DJED, DJEF, DK, DP, EBC, GAAE, GAAF, GAD, GBO, IDACA, JBE, JCAC, JDD, JDDA, JDDB AND JDDC. Motion vote was: Affirmative 7, Negative 0.

Motion made to by Everett Royer, seconded by Pam Welsh, to approve the Out-of-District Applications for Kira Ball, Kegan Gawith, Thomas Gawith, Brooklynn Pekins, Travis Ross, Preston, Ross, Jacob Tubbs, Aniston Waterhouse, Andrew Zordel and Dalton Janousek. Motion vote was: Affirmative 7, Negative 0.

Karen Maier moved, seconded by Robert Mitchell, to approve the Out-of-District Attendance and Transportation forms from Hoisington as presented. Motion vote was: Affirmative 7, Negative 0.

Motion made by Everett Royer, seconded by Gary Yost, to pay Devan Yarmer mileage for transportation of his children at the state rate. Motion vote was: Affirmative 7, Negative 0.

Motion made by Gary Yost, seconded by Karen Maier, to approve the purchase of Smoothwall filtering. Motion vote was: Affirmative 7, Negative 0.

Jason Wagner moved, seconded by Karen Maier, to approve the #403 Fundraising Approval Form. Motion vote was: Affirmative 7, Negative 0.

Motion made by Bernard Juno, seconded by Everett Royer, to go into executive session for fifteen (15) minutes with the board, Superintendent Lowry and Mr. Goodheart, to discuss certified contracts and salary, classified contracts, supplemental contracts and resignations, pursuant to the Open Meetings Act, and that we return to open meeting in the boardroom at 8:48 p.m. Motion vote was: Affirmative 7, Negative 0.

The meeting was resumed at 8:48 p.m.

Motion made by Everett Royer, seconded by Pam Welsh, to approve the long term substitute contract for Tory Arnberger as Business Instructor. Motion vote was: Affirmative 7, Negative 0.

Motion made by Karen Maier to approve the salary for Jackie Schultz at \$19,499.00 for 2018-2019. Motion seconded by Gary Yost. Motion vote was: Affirmative 7, Negative 0.

Robert Mitchell moved, seconded by Karen Maier, to give the head cook an additional \$.20 per hour. Motion vote was: Affirmative 7, Negative 0.

Gary Yost moved, seconded by Jason Wagner, to approve Milt Dougherty's salary at \$40,941.60 as SouthWinds Academy Principal for 2018-2019 and \$527.00 per month applied towards the district's health insurance. Motion vote was: Affirmative 7, Negative 0.

Jason Wagner moved, seconded by Pam Welsh, to approve the updated Supplemental List as presented. Motion vote was: Affirmative 7, Negative 0.

Motion made by Gary Yost, seconded by Everett Royer, to approve the Activity Custodian Contract for Matt Oetken for 2018-2019. Motion vote was: Affirmative 7, Negative 0.

Robert Mitchell moved, seconded by Gary Yost, to approve a contract to Jessica Funk as a Teacher's Aide for 2018-2019. Motion vote was: Affirmative 7, Negative 0.

Karen Maier moved, seconded by Pam Welsh, to approve a part-time custodian contract to Kristi Reever for the Bison Gym for 2018-2019. Motion vote was: Affirmative 7, Negative 0.

Pam Welsh moved, seconded by Jason Wagner, to accept the resignation from Deb Erb. Motion vote was: Affirmative 7, Negative 0.

Motion made by Jason Wagner, seconded by Robert Mitchell, to accept the resignation from Katie Haselhorst. Motion vote was: Affirmative 7, Negative 0.

Everett Royer moved to approve a bus driving contract to Hayden Maier for the 2018-2019 school year. Motion seconded by Gary Yost. Motion vote was: Affirmative 7, Negative 0.

Karen Maier moved to adjourn. Pam Welsh seconded the motion. Motion vote was: Affirmative 7, Negative 0.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:55 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted:	
Chairperson	Janice M. Pivonka, Clerk